Colonels of The Queen's Royal Regiment

queen's royal regiment badge


The Tangiers Garrison

Henry, Lord Mordaunt, Earl of Peterborough 1661-1663

Colonel Andrew Rutherford, The Earl of Teviot 1663-1664

Colonel John Fitzgerald

Colonel Henry Norwood, 1664-1668

Colonel The Lord John Billasye 1665-1666 (Bellasyse or Bellasise)

The Tangiers Regiment

John, The Earl of Middleton 1668-1675

The Governor's Regiment later, The 1st Tangiers Regiment

William O'Brien The Earl of Inchiquin 1675-1680

Sir Palmes Fairborne 1680-1682

1st Tangiers Regiment 1686, The Queen Dowager's Regiment

Lieutenant General Piercy Kirke (The Elder) 1682-1691

Major General William Selwyn 1691-1701

Lieutenant General Sir Henry Balassis Kt 1701-1702

General David Colyear, The Earl of Portmore 1703-1710

1714 Her Royal Highness, The Princess of Wales's Own Regiment 1727
The Queen's Own Regiment

Lieutenant General Piercy Kirke (The Younger) 1710-1741

1751 - The Queen's (Second) Royal Regiment of Foot

Lieutenant General Thomas Fowke 1741-1755

Major General The Hon John Fitz-William 1755-1760

Lieutenant General Sir Charles Montague KB 1760-1777

Lieutenant General Daniel Jones 1777-1790

H R H Field Marshal The Prince Edward, Duke of Kent, KG KP GCB 1790

Major General Alexander Stewart 1790-1794

General James Coates 1794-1822

Major General Sir Henry Torrens KCB 1822-1828

General The Rt Hon Sir William Keppel GCB 1828-1834

General the Rt Hon Sir James Kempt GCB GCH 1834-1846

Lieutenant General Alexander George The Lord Saltoun KCB GCH 1846-1853

Lieutenant General Sir John Rolt KCB GCH 1853-1856

Lieutenant General Sir James Holmes Schoedde KCB 1856-1857

General Sir John Spink KH 1857-1877

General Clement Alexander Edwards CB 1877

1881 - The Royal West Surrey Regiment (The Queen's)

General Sir Henry Smythe KCB 1877-1891

General Robert Bruce 1891

Lieutenant General Frederick Green Wilkinson 1891-1893

General Sir Edward Selby Smythe KCMG 1893-1896

Lieutenant General Granville George Chetwynd-Stapylton 1896-1902

General Sir Thomas Kelly-Kenny GCB GCVO 1902-1914

Lieutenant General Sir Edward Owen Fisher Hamilton KCB 1914-1920

1924 - The Queen's Royal (West Surrey) Regiment

General Sir Charles Monro Bt GCB GCSI GCMG ADC 1920-1929

Major General Sir Wilkinson D Bird KBE CB CMG DSO 1929-1939

General Sir Ivo L B Vesey KCB KBE CMG DSO 1939-1945

General Sir George Giffard GCB DSO 1945-1954

Major General J Y Whitfield CB DSO and Bar OBE 1954-1959


qrsr Back to list qrsr